08.03.2018: AIFF PRESS RELEASE : The inaugural edition of the Hero Super Cup, India’s premier Cup tournament, will be played in Kalinga Stadium, Bhubaneshwar. All 10 (Ten) Hero Indian Super League clubs and 10 (Ten) Hero I-League clubs will participate in the Hero Super Cup.

Clubs positioned between 7th and 10th places in the Hero I-League and Hero Indian Super League will play a single leg qualifier to earn a spot in in the final phase of the tournament. The winners of the 4 qualifier matches will join the top 6 Hero Indian Super League and Hero I-League clubs in the final phase of the tournament.

The qualifiers for the Hero Super Cup will be played on March 15 and 16, 2018. Two matches will be played on each day with the first one kicking-off at 5pm, while the second match will kick-off at 8pm.

The final round which will commence from March 31, 2018 will also be played at the same venue, the draw for which will be announced shortly.

All India Football Federation General Secretary Mr. Kushal Das said: “We are very pleased that the Government of Odisha is supporting the tournament which helped us in finalising Bhubaneswar as the venue.” I was delighted to see the response in Jamshedpur for the Hero ISL matches and I believe it has become a significant venue in the Hindi heartland,” he added. “I feel this is an opportunity for us to establish Bhubaneswar as a new football hub.”


19.02.2018: AIFF PRESS RELEASE : SUPER CUP: The Committee decided on the schedule of the inaugural Super Cup. The qualifiers for the Super Cup are to be played between March 12, 2018 and March 31, 2018 while the final round will be held between March 31, 2018 to April 22, 2018.

The schedule will be finalised keeping in mind the AFC Cup commitments of Aizawl FC and JSW Bengaluru FC (subject to their qualification to the Group Stages) and the venue is to be decided between Cuttack and Kochi after AIFF inspections.

The number of foreign players to be registered for the Super Cup was discussed and a final decision will be taken after a final discussion with all stakeholders.

The tournament will be played on a knock-out basis among 16 teams. The top six teams of the Hero I-League and the Hero Indian Super League would be granted a direct entry into the round of 16, while the bottom-placed teams from both the leagues would be playing a play-off to decide on the remaining 4 spots.