2nd Edition - 55 Teams from all over the Country will play

22.09.2016: AIFF PRESS RELEASE : 55 Teams from all over the Country will ply their trade in the U-16 Youth League which is slated to kick-off on September 24 (Saturday) in Kolkata and Shillong simultaneously. Youth Teams from all Hero I-League Clubs and two Teams from Hero ISL Clubs along with many an Academy will be fielding their Teams for the top honours across 10 zones.

The League, which commenced last season as the U-15 Youth League, has been refurbished as the U-16 Youth League keeping an eye on the forthcoming FIFA U-17 World Cup India 2017. Sunando Dhar, CEO, I-League said the increase in the numbers highlights the “urge among the Clubs to perform.”“The numbers speak."I wish success to all the participating Teams. The competition will be intense and may the best Team triumph,” he added.

The teams from every zone will play on a home-away basis among themselves in the round robin stage and 16 teams will qualify to the National Final Round eventually. Those sixteen teams will be divided into four groups and the group champions will qualify for the semi-final which will be followed by the final to decide the U-16 Youth League 2016-17 champions.

Royal Wahingdoh FC will face Rangdajied United FC at the Mawlai Ground in the opener (September 24) while Mohammedan Sporting FC will lock their horns with United Sporting Club at the Mohammedan Sporting Ground the same day. Minerva Academy FC, champions from the last edition have been clubbed with Youngsters Club, Lonestar Kashmir, Real Kashmir and J&K Bank.

The zones and the teams are noted below:

Zones: Kolkata, Maharashtra, Bangalore-Chennai, Shillong-Guwahati, Kerala, Delhi, Rest of India (I), Rest of India (II), Rest of India (III) and Rest of India (IV).

East Bengal, Mohun Bagan, Mohammedan Sporting, SAI Kolkata, Southern Samity, United Sports Club
DSK Shivajians, Mumbai FC, Kenkre, PIFA, Young Champs, Steadfast FC, Football School of India, FC Pune City, Ozone Football
Mahogany FC, Boca Juniors, Roots Football
Shillong Lajong, SAI Guwahati, Royal Wahingdoh, Rangdajied United, Gauhati Town Club
Kovalam FC, Prodigy, Red Star FC, SEPT, Bhaichung Bhutia Football School, Concient FC, Sudeva FC, Real Sports, IYSA, Delhi United, SAI Delhi, Delhi Dynamos, Hindustan FC
Neroca FC, Aizawl FC, Tata Football Academy, SAIL Bokaro, NRL SPT
Dempo, Sporting Clube de Goa, Salgaocar FC
Bengaluru FC, Youngsters Club
Real Kashmir, Lonestar Kashmir, J&K Bank
Minerva Academy FC, Kahaani FC, Anantpur Football
Fateh Hyderabad, Pride Sports and Sports Authority of Gujarat.