The 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup will be the 17th edition of the FIFA U-17 World Cup, the biennial international men's youth football championship contested by the U17 national teams of the member associations of FIFA. The tournament will be hosted by India between 6 and 28 October 2017. This will be the first FIFA tournament hosted by India. Nigeria, the 2015 champions, will not be able to defend their title as they failed to reach the final round of the CAF qualifying tournament. In doing so, they became the first incumbent title holder since Switzerland in 2009 to fail to qualify for the subsequent tournament.

Bids had to be submitted by 15 November 2013 to FIFA by Azerbaijan, India, Ireland, Uzbekistan. FIFA revealed on 5 December 2013 (as part of their Executive Committee meeting in Salvador, Brazil) that India would be the host of FIFA u-17 World Cup 2017.

A total of 24 teams qualify for the final tournament. Idia as hosts, the other 23 teams qualify from six separate continental competitions. Starting from 2017, the Oceania Football Confederation will receive an additional slot (in total two), while UEFA will have five instead of six slots.

The initial short-list of 10 venues in the host cities of New Delhi, Chennai, Pune, Mumbai, Margao, Bangalore, Kolkata, Kochi, Guwahati, and Navi Mumbai was announced in December 2013. FIFA's technical report, Kochi, Delhi, Navi Mumbai, Guwahati, Margao and Kolkata were provisionally selected as venues for the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup in May 2015. After a thorough inspection, the 13-member FIFA team, along with 10 members of the Local Organising committee, ratified Kochi, Goa, Navi Mumbai, New Delhi, Guwahati, and Kolkata as venues for the FIFA U-17 World Cup, 2017. In addition to the selected venues, there is also a Plan B. FIFA has listed Ahmedabad, Pune, Chennai and Thiruvananthapuram among others, as alternate venues.


8.12.2013: FROM THE HISTORY BOOK Nigeria have won the Competition maximum number of times - 4 times (1985, 1993, 2007, 2013) and have finished Runners-up thrice (1987, 2001, 2009)

Brasil have won it thrice (1997, 1999, 2003) and have finished Runners-up twice (1995, 2005).

Ghana have emerged Champions twice (1991 & 1995) and have finished Runners-up twice (1993, 1997).

Mexico have also emerged Champions twice (2005 & 2011) and finished Runners-up once (2013).Erstwhile Soviet Union (1987), Saudi Arabia (1989), France (2001) and Switzerland (2005) have won the Tournament once each.

1985 (China) : Nigeria 2-0 West Germany
1987 (Canada) : Soviet Union 4-2 Nigeria (pen)
1989 (Scotland) : Saudi Arabia 5-4 Scotland (pen)
1991 (Italy) : Ghana 1-0 Spain
1993 (Japan) : Nigeria 2-1 Ghana
1995 (Ecuador) : Ghana 3-2 Brazil
1997 (Egypt) : Brazil 2-1 Ghana
1999 (N.Zealand) : Brazil 8-7 Australia (pen)
2001 (T & T ) : France 3-0 Nigeria
2003 (Finland) : Brazil 1-0 Spain
2005 (Peru) : Mexico 3-0 Brazil
2007 (s.Korea) : Nigeria 3-0 Brazil
2009 (Nigeria) : Switzerland 1-0 Nigeria
2011 (Mexico) : Mexico 2-0 Uruguay
2013 (UAE) : Nigeria 3-0 Mexico