Pune FC announce 19-man squad for the prestigious Bordoloi Trophy

 Pune FC U-17 win Bordoloi Trophy

30.09.2014 : KFC. | HOME PAGE | LIKE FB ||

A nineteen-member Pune FC 'A' squad heads to the north-east to participate in the prestigious Bharat Ratna Lokapriya Gopinath Bordoloi Trophy Football Tournament which kicks off in Guwahati on Tuesday, 23rd September.

For the Pune FC A squad, comprising mostly of the Under-19 players, the tournament is the first of the 2014-15 season. Moreover, this is also the first time the squad travels outside Pune for an open tournament in two years.

Speaking ahead of the team's departure, PPFCA Director Ranjan Chowdhury said, 'This tournament will be a tough one for our boys since a lot of senior teams will be taking part. However, the competition will prepare our youngsters for the upcoming Under-19 I-League.'

Pune FC 'A' who play the opening match on 23rd September, have been seeded directly into the prequarterfinal group stage of the tournament and will be clubbed with two other qualifiers. Furthermore, the top two teams from the group will qualify for the quarterfinals.

The 19-member squad left Pune in the wee hours of Sunday, 21st September.

The Team

Goalkeepers: Sukhadev Patil, Tanmay Bhattacharjee Defenders: Balkar Singh, Asheer Akhtar, Myron Mendes, Dimple Bhagat, Monoranjan Singh.
Midfielders: Sanchayan Samaddar, Arjun Jayaraj, Chesterpaul Lyngdoh, Jesmon Soares, Pradeesh Clement, Altamash Sayed, Md. Shibili KP, Md. Ashique Kuruniyan, Sannik Murmu, Subhasish Bose
Strikers: Farukh Choudhary, Arif Shaikh
Staff: Naushad Moosa (Coach), Ranjan Chowdhury (Team Manager), Lino Sequeira (Physiotherapist)