All Text, Datas, PIC Copy right by only

: Former India Captain and Member of Parliament Prasun Banerjee was felicitated by the All India Football Federation (AIFF)


27.08.2013 : KFC. | HOME PAGE      Share Button

AIFF MEDIA RELEASE : Former India Captain and Member of Parliament Prasun Banerjee was felicitated by the All India Football Federation (AIFF) President Mr. Praful Patel at the Constitution Club of India here on Tuesday (August 27, 2013).

Also present on the occasion were AIFF General Secretary Mr. Kushal Das, AIFF Vice-President Mr. Subrata Dutta, all the Office Bearers of the AIFF.

Speaking on the occasion Mr. Patel said: "This is a proud moment for Indian Football. This is the first time that a former India Captain and a footballer of Mr. Prasun Banerjee's eminence has become the Member of Parliament.

"This must be a crowning moment in his illustrious career. I am sure that his presence in the Government will help develop Indian football and I sincerely hope we can regain the past glory," added the AIFF Supremo.

AIFF Vice-President Mr. Subrata Dutta added: "Prasun Banerjee's contribution to Indian Football has been immense. I would like to thank the West Bengal Chief Minister for backing Mr. Banerjee. It is an honour for entire Indian Football fraternity to have Mr. Banerjee in the Parliament."

AIFF General Secretary Mr. Kushal Das echoed Mr. Dutta: "It is indeed an honour to felicitate a footballer of Prasun Banerjee's stature. I wish him all the luck in his new endeavour as a Lok Sabha MP."

Banerjee is the only Indian International Footballer to be to be elected to the Lower House of the Parliament following the veteran midfielder's resounding win over Left Front's Sridip Bhattacharya by more than 27,000 votes. He contested the election from Howrah Lok Sabha constituency on a Trinamool Congress ticket.

"I thank the AIFF, Mr. Patel, and all members of the Federation. It is a great honour to become the first Footballer to be elected as Member of Parliament in the Lok Sabha. I hope that my involvement in the government will help Indian football scale new heights," Banerjee said.

Banerjee, an Arjuna Award Winner in 1979, was part of the feted midfield trio comprising of Parminder Singh (Right Wing), Banerjee (Central Midfielder) and Prasanta Banerjee (Left Winger). The creative midfielder from Bengal was an integral part of the Indian Football Team which reached the Quarter-Finals of the 9th Asian Games, 1982 in New Delhi.

Banerjee is also the younger brother of Legendary Footballer and of one of the first Arjuna Award Winners PK Banerjee.


Indian National Team


Debut: July 26th, 1974 V Malaysia, in Merdeka Cup at Kuala Lumpur.Banerjee came 

in as a substitute for Gautam Sarkar.


No of Matches Played - 49

No of Matches played as a Captain - 5

Goals Scored - 3


International Meets 

Asian Games - 1974,1978,1982,

Merdeka Cup - 1974,1981,1982,

Pre Olympics - 1980 (Captain),

Nehru Cup - 1982, Kings Cup (Bangkok) - 1977,1981

Presidents Cup (Seoul) - 1982

Aga Khan Gold Cup (Dhaka) - 1977.



Other Achievements - Prasun Banerjee was the Joint Captain of the Indian 

Youth Team along with Shabbir Ali which became Joint Champions with Iran 

in Asian Youth Soccer Tournament at Bangkok.


For Bengal : Santosh Trophy - 1974,1975,1976,1977,1978,1979 (Captain),1982.

Goals Scored - 3


Championships Won - 1975,1976,1977,1978,1979 and 1982 (Joint0 - 6 times) 

Clubs (Major) 

Mohun Bagan - 1974,1975,1976,1977,1978 (Captain),1979,1980,1982,1983. 

Goals Scored - 24 goals (CFL-14,Bordoloi Trophy-4,IFA Shield-1,Durand Cup-1,

               Rovers Cup -1,Federation Cup-2,Darjeeling Gold Cup- 1)


Trophies Won - Calcutta Football League (4) - 1976,1978,1979,1983,

               IFA Shield (5) - 1976 (Joint),1977,1978 (Joint),1979,1982,


Durand Cup (4) - 1974,1977,1979,1982 (Joint), Rovers Cup (2),1976, 1977, 

                Federation Cup (3) - 1978 (Joint),1980 (Joint),1982.


Bordoloi Trophy (4) - 1974, 1975, 1976, 1977, 

Darjeeling Gold Cup (3) - 1975,1976 (Joint),1979

Sait Nagjee Trophy (1) - 1978.


Mohammedan Sporting - 1981,1984,1985 

Goals Scored - 4 (CFL-1, Federation Cup-2,Sanjay Gandhi Gold Cup-1)

Trophies Won - Calcutta Football League - 1981,Federation Cup - 1984,

               Sanjay Gandhi Gold Cup -1981,Stafford Cup (1981 (Joint). 

               Nizam Gold Cup - 1984, Sait Nagjee Trophy - 1984,

               Rovers Cup - 1984,Darjeeling Gold Cup - 

               Bordoloi Trophy - 1985

Prasun Banerjee has also Coached Mohun Bagan for Two months in 1990-91.  

Awards : Arjuna Award (Football) - 1979