East Bengal Day 2014: Celebrated 95th Birthday.

East Bengal Day 2014

01.08.2014 : KFC. | HOME PAGE | LIKE FB ||

East Bengal Club celebrates their 95th birthday. At Kolkata today thousands of Red and Gold fanatics, ex footballers and host of dignities gathered at the Club premises and at the Khudiram Anusilani Kendra in the evening to celebrate. EAST BENGAL WILL LAUNCH THEIR OFFICIAL T- SHIRT WHICH WILL BE AVAILABLE SOON FOR SALE.

East Bengal Club founded in the year 1920 by Maharaja Suresh Chandra Chowdhury is now one of the leading football Club not only in the sub continent , but the Red and Gold has proved it's dominance in the Asian circuit also. The programme started in the morning when Chandan Banerjee( captain of East Bengal in 1966) hoisted the club flag and lit the candle.

East Bengal Day 2014

The main part of the programme started in presence of thousands of enthusiastic East Bengal lovers where East Bengal club president Dr. Pranab Dasgupta inaurutated the occasion.

After Mehtab Hossain, Penn orji and Soumik Dey, defender Arnab Kumar Mondal were honored as the best footballer of the season. He was honored with Banowarilal Roy Memorial Award and a cash amount of Rs 50 thousand for his outstanding contribution in 2013-14 season. East Bengal captain Harmonjot Khabra haded the trophy to arnab.

East Bengal Day 2014

Amal Dutta and Parimal Dey were felicitated with Life Time Achievement Award. Amal Dutta represented India 1952 Manila Asian games were in the Red and Gold squad in the 1950s. Amal Dutta joined East Bengal as a coach in 1960 after completing one year FA Coaching course from England. He is the first professional coach in India and was associated with premier football clubs of India, and managed the Indian football team also .

Parimal Dey, the hero of the 1970, who scored the winning goal against Pas Club of Iran in the IFA Shield final. Parimal joined East Bengal in the year 1964 and played till 1970 and rejoined in 1973 before he quit. Parimal Dey scored 79 goals for East Bengal and captained in the year 1962. These two legends of Indian football were honored with Nosha Sen Memorial Award along with Rs 1 lacks cash. Nosha Sen who was better known as Dr Ramesh Charda Sen was the first captain of East Bengal Club in the year 1920 and 1921.

East Bengal Day 2014

Journalist G.C. Das and Photo journalist Nikhil Bhattacharjee were honored with Ajay Bose and Puspen Sarkar Memorial Award respectively. These two senior journalists were given a cash award of Rs 50 thousand. It may be recalled that Ajay Bose and Pusphen Sarkar were the eminent sports commentators , still remembered by the football lovers for their extra ordinary description and analysis during the course of a football match.

Referee Kalidas Mukherjee and Gopinath Pyne were hounered with Pratul Chakroborty and Pankaj Gupta Memorial Award. East Bengal published the 2nd edition of 'Football Almanac' which includes interesting stories and statics regarding Indian Football.