East Bengal are on the verge of their thirty fifth CFL crown.

07.01.2014 : .KFC. | HOME PAGE

JAYDIP DASGUPTA : East Bengal are on the verge of their thirty fifth CFL crown needs only a point on the tenth encounter. The league leaders are at 25 points will meet Kalighat MS tomorrow at the home ground. If East Bengal earn a point tomorrow then they will be declared as the champions of CFL before the Derby against the arch rivals Mohun Bagan on Saturday.

"it would have been a great achivement for me if I win tomorrow" said a confident and relaxed Armando who was optimistic regading his team's performance. In fact the Red and Gold brigade are targeting for full points and wants to bag the crown only on tomorrow. East Bengal played their opening match of the CFL against Kalighat MS which was called off due to bad light.

East Bengal will miss the services of Harmonjot Khabra for a red card offence and Mehtab Hossain for his injury. But it is likely that Uga Opara may be tested by Armando before the Derby and Fedaration Cup. The Red and Gold strikers Cheedi Eddeh and JamesMoga are among the goals and their combinations with the midfeild are working. As Armando feels that his team are playing a utility football though some devolopements are needed .

East Bengal club are now tied up in a joint venture with SMRB Srijan Ltd.

07.01.2014 : .KFC. | HOME PAGE

JAYDIP DASGUPTA : East Bengal club are now tied up in a joint venture with SMRB Srijan Ltd. SRMB is a steel manufacturing group at present have their plants located at Durgapur and Badtumkela in Orissa. In a media meeting at the newly constructed Media Room at the club permises the agreement was declared by the Red and General Secretary Mr Kalyan Mazumdar.

The meeting was attended by Mr Navin Bhuwalka (Executive Director - SRMB), Mr Asish Beriwalla (Director - SRMB) along with Armando Colaco, Mehtab Hossain and Harmonjot Khabra. The main aim of SRMB is to help the junior teams as well as a co sponcer of the Senior football team for four years which will likely to be extend furthur. The logo of SRMB group will be in the back side of the Red and Gold jersey.

"SRMB alaways support sports, sports is our priority" - this was said by Mr Asish Beriwala while interacting with the media.This eminent steel company regularly arranges Football tournament in Siliguri. The SRMB group is proud to be associated with East Bengal as the legendary man in World cricket Kapildev is the BRAND AMBASSADOR of the group for almost a decade.

20-member Goa-India squad for the Lusofonia Games Goa 2014 .

07.01.2014 : .KFC. | HOME PAGE

PRESS RELEASE : The Goa Football Association (GFA) has announced a 20-member Goa-India squad for the Lusofonia Games Goa 2014 from January 18 to 29. The Lusofonia Games is a multinational multi-sport event organized by the ACOLOP, which involves athletes from Portugal and its former territories.

India will be represented in the Lusofonia Games by its former Portuguese province Goa. The Lusofonia Games will be held for the first time in India and it will be hosted in various venues around Goa.

The Goa-India football team will be coached by Portuguese gaffer Francisco Neto in the football tournament which is expected to produce some entertaining matches. But Neto is forced to handle the absence of big names in his squad as a number of I-League clubs have not released their players due to the upcoming 35th Federation Cup 2014 scheduled to kick-off in Kerala on January 14. Neto is likely to rely heavily on the much talked about ASD - Cape Town, midfielder Brandon Fernandes. Dempo's Myron Fernandes, Mandar Rao Desai and Bengaluru FC's Ricardo Cardozo as few of the other notable inclusion into Neto's squad.
Goalkeepers :Albino Pereira (Salgaocar FC), Ricardo Cardozo (Bengaluru FC)
Defenders : Caitano Viegas (Sesa Football Academy), Leston Afonso (Sesa Football Academy), Meldon D'Silva (Wilred Leisure SC), Ponif Vaz (Sesa Football Academy), George D'Souza (Sesa Football Academy), Surjit Singh (Salgaocar FC)

Midfielders : Richard Costa (Churchill Brothers SC), Paresh Korgaonkar (Sesa Football Academy), Dom Sahil Tavora (Dempo SC), Aniston Fernandes (Dempo SC), Alesh Sawant (Churchill Brothers SC), Brandon Fernandes (ASD - Cape Town, South Africa), Nickson Castanha (Dempo SC)

Forwards : Myron Fernandes (Dempo SC), Mandar Rao Dessai (Dempo SC), Brian Mascarenhas (Salgaocar FC), Umesh Harijan (Sesa Football Academy), Alber Gonsalves (Goa Velha SC).