The Angami Students' Union will be organizing the 17th Edition of the NSF Martyrs Memorial Trophy from 24th Sept. to 22nd Oct. 2016, at Kohima Local ground under the theme "Goal for peace".

Champion : 1.60 lakhs
Runner up: 1 lakh
Third place : 50,000/-
Fourth place : 30,000/-
Individual prizes with trophy, cash and citations for Player of the tournament
Best Midfielder
Best Defence
Best Custodian
Highest scorer.

This trophy is organized by Angami Students’ Union (ASU) in honour and in remembrance of two comrades Lt. Kekuojalie Sachu of Kohima village and Lt. Vikhozo Yhoshii of Kigwema village, who were victims to the indiscriminate firings of the Armed Police from Alichen, when the students’ fraternity, on the 20th of March 1986, were on a peaceful duty call of the Naga Students Federation (NSF) to register Nagas resentment against the state government’s decision to the extension of Disturbed Area Belt from 5 KM to 20 KM along the Indo- Myanmar border and against the induction of Indian Police Service (IPS) cadres into the state of Nagaland.

In exercise to honour and keep alive the sacrifices made for the Nagas by the two martyrs and to be the living vanguard in protecting the cause of the younger generations, the Angami Students’ Union started the herculean task of organizing the martyrs’ memorial trophy. Starting off in the 80’s the “Lt. Kekuojalie & Lt. Vikhozo Memorial Trophy” was played annually, but participation was confined only to Angami students’ fraternity.

From 1992 onwards at the behest of the NSF and general public, and also to bestow the memorial trophy in a wider prospective, the Trophy was converted into an open football tournament with the nomenclature “Open NSF Martyrs’ Trophy” and the following teams were the winners. Tangkhul Students’ Union (TKS)- 1992, All Zeliangrong Students Union (AZSU)- 1993, 1994 & 1995.The AZSU having won the trophy for three years consecutively, the trophy went into their possession. Thereafter, a new trophy for the tournament was procured by the ASU and the nomenclature for the same was changed into NSF Martyrs’ Memorial Trophy with the theme “Goal for Peace.”

The following teams were the winners:

1998- Kohima Village Students’ Union
2000- Naga Boys Club
2002-Tangkhul Students Union (TKS)
2003- Naga Boys Club
2004- Rongmei Youth Club Dimapur
2005- Puliebadze Club Jotsoma
2006- Naga Boys Club
2007- Nagaland Police
2008- Nagaland Police
2009- Excel United Club, Kohima
2010- Nagaland Police
2011- Lamkang Students’ Union
2012- Life Sports FC
2013- Nagaland Police
2014- Barak FC, Peren.
2015 - Barak FC, Peren